Reflections on Parenting

13 Jan

If any of you have children with special needs, you know that just when you think you have things figured out, something changes or re-appears or develops and you are on alert once again. I have a child with a health condition and ADHD. Because of the health issues, we choose not to medicate the ADHD. We rely mostly on diet and behavior modifications. Also, the more I learn about ADHD, the more I realize the apple didn’t fall too far from the tree, and I’ve spent years learning how to create a life system that helps keep me on track both mentally and physically. This week has been a great measure of how well that is working.
I’ve gotten two phone calls from school in the past few days about my son not working on his, in school, long term projects. I don’t have teachers or a boss, but I’ve noticed I am barely doing the minimum around my house. We’re both keeping afloat, but not really progressing. This morning, we barely got him to school on time because he had to finish up one of his projects on the computer with me as his typist. We rushed to school with me hurrying him out of the car to be on time. When I got home, I remembered something I heard once.
Our Children are like mirrors — they reflect our attitudes in life.
The most valuable gift you can give another is a good example.
It made me realize that I haven’t been the best example the past couple of weeks, and it’s being reflected to me in my youngest child. I have been doing the basics and getting by, but I haven’t been progressing. If I want my children to keep reaching to be better, I have to do the same. It’s time to get back in the saddle and set a better example for my children. Sometimes I think that is the greatest gift of a special needs child. You can’t hide from your own ugliness because they reflect the energy around them.
So, here it is on Friday and most of the week has slipped by. I could blame it on the weather, the continuing car problems, my husband’s birthday or any other number of other reasons. OR I can turn on some great music, get my tush in gear and become the change I would like to see in my family. Any guesses which one I pick?  Have a great day!

One Response to “Reflections on Parenting”

  1. Patti January 13, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    Great thoughts Karen…..I agree with it all. How can I expect the boys to keep their rooms clean if I can’t keep all my stuff neat and organized? Enjoy the music….

Leave a Reply

