Enjoy the Feast

30 Jan

Rosalind Russell as Auntie Mame

Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death – Auntie Mame
Do you ever feel like you’re living the same day over and over again? I know this post would be more appropriate on February 2nd, but sometimes you just have to go with the ideas as they come. I’ve never seen the movie “Groundhog Day”, but I understand it’s about a man who keeps living the same day over and over until he figures out how to change himself and his circumstances. I think everyone’s life can be like that, especially if it’s less than stellar. I also think it’s crazy to live in a life you’re unhappy with. I believe that everyone deserves and should pursue a life that brings them great joy. I believe that with consistent focus and action, each of us can have a beautiful life. It took me a long time to get to that belief, and I had a lot of help along the way.

There was a time in my life that I lived off of the crumbs that others gave me. I felt so bad about myself I ended up in counseling trying to figure out how things had gone so wrong. My first marriage was crumbling, I my business wasn’t making money and I felt like an utter failure. I left my home with my clothes and a desk, and had to borrow a bed for my apartment. At the time, it seemed like I was worthless and so was my life. Now I see that busted marriage as one of my greatest blessings and I am so grateful for every lesson I learned because of it. It made me stronger and wiser and much more focused about what I wanted out of the banquet of life.
Since then, I’ve married a man who is everything I ever wanted in a husband. Best proof of that? When my youngest was three years old, someone asked him what my name was and he, of course, said “Mommy.” Then she said, “No. What does Daddy call her?” His response, “Gorgeous.” He left her flabbergasted and me laughing when I heard the story. I have the best husband for me because I decided I wouldn’t settle for less the second time around. I always said I wanted to be the couple that would be married 50 years and still be walking hand in hand on the beach. We’ve been together for twenty years and things are looking good so far.

Some people think it’s hard to change, but I don’t agree. What’s hard is living a life that’s less than you deserve. What’s hard is thinking about changing but never taking action, and what’s really hard is trying to get someone else to change to make you happy. What’s much easier and more productive is deciding what you want out of life and creating the lifestyle to have it. If you want a nicer home, learn to take better care of the one you’ve got. If you want better health, learn about nutrition and find out look for exercise you like and will actually do on a regular basis. If you want a better financial situation, take very good care of the money you get now and be grateful for every financial blessing, including the ability to pay the bills. And the most important thing? Ask for better and be specific. Picture that home you want in great detail and picture the one you have at its best. Imagine your body healthy and strong. See yourself with a fat bank account and money to spare.  Things and people will start to appear to help you, so look for them.

There are so many people who live by the phrase, “I’ll believe it when I see it.” It’s easy to live expecting less and being critical when life doesn’t give you what you want. What if you decided to change your thinking and live by the phrase, “I’ll see it when I believe it?” It would require you to think differently. It would mean that you would imagine your house being clean, your children getting along, all kinds of money coming from all directions and your body being fit and trim and healthy. Some might say that’s living in a fantasy world, but for me, it’s been the starting point of living an incredibly joyful and constantly improving life. Give it a try and let me know what happens. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

