On Second Thought

13 Feb

Photo Credit educatorpages.com

I proofread every blog post before I publish it at least twice.  The first time I read it to myself.  The second time, I read it to my husband.  Mostly it’s about grammar and how the sentences flow.  He rarely comments on content, except today.  Today, he commented on how much more passionate my posts were last week about my son, but that what I wrote for today was fine.  Fine…I don’t want fine.  I want good, better, great, powerful.  I want what I write to make a difference.  Then I re-read what I wrote.  He was right.  It was fine.  Worse, it was what is known in the industry as fluff.  I candy coated and covered over what I really wanted to write about, which was Whitney Houston.  Why Whitney Houston?  Soooo many reasons, so in place of the fluff, here goes.

First, I want to ask why anyone was shocked that Whitney Houston died.  Is it sad?  Yes.  Is it tragic? Yes, especially for her daughter, but shocking?  Not to most people who know what addiction does to the body and even more to the spirit of a person who feels powerless to beat it.  When will we learn that the way to beat a drug addiction is by never going there in the first place?  I know people will make excuses for how it happens, but here’s my take on it.  Every single one of us is responsible for what happens in our lives.  We have the power to say no and the power to walk away.  I was offered free cocaine in college, twice.  I never tried it because I knew I was addicted to nicotine and there was addiction in my family.  I didn’t want to go down that road.  Eventually, I kicked the nicotine habit and have been nicotine free for 17 years and 11 months.  Hardest thing I’ve ever done and the thing I’m most proud of doing in my life.  I don’t blame anyone for getting me started, and I don’t judge those who do smoke.  I wish they’d quit, but as long as they keep it out of my house, car and space, it’s their life.  I also don’t have a problem with insurance companies charging them more money to insure them.  Long term smokers’ health care costs are well documented.

On the other hand, I wonder why people are so mean about Whitney’s life circumstances.  It was a life of huge ups and downs, of great talent and self-destruction and an all too familiar ending for those who rise to fame and fall.  At one time, Whitney Houston had one of the best singing voices ever.  I have never heard the Star Spangled Banner sung better than she did it in 1991.  Her rendition of Dolly Parton’s song “I Will Always Love You” gives me goose bumps to this day.  Her voice brought joy to millions and will continue to do so years from now.

To me the only real tragedy in this situation is that a young woman lost her mother.  That young woman will not plan a wedding with her mother.  Her mother will not be there for the birth of her children.  All she has are memories.  I hope they are good ones.

So why did I want to write about Whitney Houston?  Because she made a difference and for a time, she knew what her talent was and she shared it with the world.  Those seem to be the best years of her life, when singing and sharing her gift were her passion.  Then she lost her way and she got caught up in the fame and the drama, and it all went wrong, in a very big way.

I think we all have talents that can make a difference, maybe not on the scale that Whitney Houston did, but we all have talents that we should be sharing with the world.  It’s why I started my blog to share my gift and to encourage you to share yours with the world too.  You never know who might need to receive exactly what you have to give.  It’s scary and it’s exhilarating and it makes the world a better place.  And if you find yourself losing your way, find someone, anyone who can lead you back to your greatness.  If you can’t find your greatness in the first place, reach out to me and we’ll find it together.  I know that together we can make a difference and make the world a better place.  Thanks for being you and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

