Dream Big

20 Mar

graphiceclips
dreams

I love serendipities, those things that come along just when you need them; the call to go to lunch when you need a friend, the unexpected financial windfall when you’re most desperate for money, an unexpected hug from one of your children when you’re wondering if anything you do matters. This morning, for me, it was this quote by Mama Gena, “If you could trust your dreams half as much as you doubt them, you would get everything you want.”

If you’re human, you have dreams. If you haven’t been taught about dreams, your dream may be as simple as getting through the day without a catastrophe. I know people like that. Then there are those who have a little better handle on life who dream of a nicer car, a nicer home and the things that will make life a little easier. I know people like that too. Then there are those who really get dreams. They intentionally spend time dreaming and creating a better world in their imagination, and then they get to work creating that better world regardless of the obstacles. Those people become the Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Jim Carrey and Kelly Clarkson’s of the world. They also become the Harriet Tubman, Mother Teresa, Martin Luther King and Dalai Lamas. They have global impact even when they come from the most humble beginnings.

I aspire to be someone with a positive global impact. I would love to have my words lift people up around the world, but before that I have a few other dreams. I dream that my children will grow into men of character and strength, dignity and leadership. I dream that they will find wives that lift them spiritually, emotionally and mentally as my husband does me. I dream that they will be everything they dream and more, and I share that dream with them, so they know how highly I think of them and how big I dream for them. Mama Gena’s quote reminds me this morning that I need to re-visit that dream more often than the frustration of paperwork that is due today that is shoved at me as they walk out the door. That dream is more important than forgotten soccer shin guards, musical instruments and occasional assignments. That dream is also more important than a bit of lost sleep during the current March madness frenzy that is rampant in our home. The dream for my children is more powerful than the nightmare that my children’s future could include the phrase, “You want fries with that?”

Today I am reminded that if you have a dream, somewhere, somehow there is a way to make that dream come true. Your excuses don’t matter. Think you’re too young? Research Mattie Stepanek. In his short life, less than 14 years, he published six books of poetry and a book of essays, was considered a friend by Oprah Winfrey and made such an impact as an advocate of peace that former President Jimmy Carter delivered a eulogy for him. Add to this that he was afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy and you can’t help but question why you aren’t living your dreams. Think you’re too old? Famous painter, Grandma Moses, didn’t have her first exhibition until she was 78. She lived to be over 100 years old and painted over 1000 paintings of rural life in America. Is color your issue? In the United States, we have more African American millionaires than ever before and a President of color as well. How about your gender? In nearly every male dominated profession, you will find women who have risen to the top. Is it easy? No, but very few worthwhile things are. I’m feeling energized and renewed just thinking about it.

Do you have dreams? If not, take some time to make some. Start small if you have to, but start and trust that the forces that plant the seeds of a dream have the power to help you make it come true. If you have dreams, really look at them. Are they what you truly want or are they what someone else has told you that you should be, have or do? What speaks to your soul? What one thing, if you could have it by the end of this year would bring you the greatest joy and satisfaction? Don’t think about how to get it. Think about why you want it and believe that you could have it. Even if you fall short, you’ll be better off than you were when you started. Don’t believe this can work for you? Think about this. Last year I wanted more money so we could pay off our debts. I didn’t know how we were going to get it, but I really wanted it. I thought about a certain amount, an amount that was absurd, considering our current income, but it was my dream and I decided that the Divine could do anything so I wrote it down and believed. Things started to happen. Books and programs about how to manage money showed up in my email. Opportunities for overtime showed up for my husband. We made a few difficult decisions like giving up a vacation so we could repair our car. I had almost given up in December, when something amazing happened. My husband got his year-end bonus. There was nothing unusual about him getting the bonus. It happens every year. What was astounding was the amount. It fell short of the amount I had been dreaming of, but it was over double anything we had ever seen before. We were speechless and thrilled and humbled by the power of the dream and the Divine to provide.

So today I’ll be thinking about my dreams for this year, for myself, for my family and for all of you. Just in case you’re wondering, my dream for you is that you find a dream that inspires you to become all that you were born to be in the most beautiful way possible. To me, that sounds like Heaven on Earth. Thanks for being you and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

