Five Minute Friday: Loud

23 Mar

thegypsymama

It’s Friday, so I’m taking Gypsy Mama’s Five Minute Friday challenge:
Around here we write for five minutes flat on Fridays.
We finger paint with words. We try to remember what it was like to just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Meet & encourage someone who linked up before you.
Today’s word was Loud.

Sometimes the intuition is so loud I can’t ignore it even if I want to. I have to do what it tells me to do. When I listen to that small still voice, there is relief. I can move on. It’s like the pressure release on a can of Coke. Ahhhh, refreshing. Only I don’t drink that stuff anymore and that’s the rub. Releasing the pressure means I’ve accepted the change I have to make. It makes my life louder. I can’t hide my light anymore. I have to accept that I have a louder personality than others. I’ll never be the quiet, demure woman I once aspired to be. I will try to curb my loudness for my quiet friends, but if they are truly my friend, they will see the value of my loud as I see the value of their quiet.

Loud makes me feel alive. Loud music, loud colors too, but I‘ve always resisted loud because of loud arguments when I was a child. Loud then, meant anger and fear and a chance that someone might be mad at me. Loud wasn’t safe. Children were seen and not heard. Now loud is my choice. Not mean loud, just living loud. Today I love loud, most of the time.

Leave a Reply

