What a Difference a Day Makes

29 Mar

Yesterday was not one of my better days. I got up late. My exercise partner bailed on me. I didn’t get anything done around the house. I had a disagreement with my oldest son, and the specialty pharmacy that handles my youngest son’s medication wanted us to pay $2,400.00 for his next month of medication, even though we only have about $500.00 left on his deductible. Blech, Blech and more Blech. Add to that, I made a family dinner that only three people, including myself were home to eat, and we got an absolutely ridiculous “financial award” from one of my son’s college possibilities. It really felt like a wasted, useless day.

I managed to salvage part of the day walking with my husband so we could unload our angst, physically and verbally, but even as I headed to bed, I was resigned rather than peaceful. I woke up not much better, but I was determined to make a better day of it. I got most of my daily work finished early. I ate a healthy breakfast. I did some yoga and meditation. And then the phone rang.

It was the specialty pharmacy again, and my stomach immediately knotted. The lovely southern voice on the other end of the line let me know that she had straightened everything out and was ready to ship my son’s medication. Then she asked how we were going to pay. When I told her we would pay with our personal credit card, she asked why. I explained our situation, and she offered me several options to help us ease our very large financial burden at the beginning of every year. All I had to do was make a phone call to see if we qualified. I did, and we do. In the ten years our son has been on this medication, no one has ever offered to help us in this way. So what does that mean in the grander scheme of things? What that means is money for college. What that means is tears of relief that someone really does care and is willing to go the extra mile to help a stranger. What it means is hope.

Hope is a beautiful thing. Hope helps us get through the rotten days, reach for more on good days, and forgive ourselves and others for the mistakes that are bound to happen in this journey we call life. Hope is what inspires a young man from humble beginnings to apply to colleges that may be beyond his parents’ financial reach. Hope is what gets a parent through the night when the finances seem to override every other aspect of life. Hope is what gives a shy boy enough courage to take a chance to change his life and inspire others to do the same. If you haven’t seen the viral video of this incredible 17 year old talent, click on this link and see hope in action: http://www.godvine.com/Shy-Boy-and-his-Friend-Shock-the-Audience-with-The-Prayer-Unbelievable-1318.html. When I showed this to my middle son, he said I should blog about it. I hope he was right. Thanks for being you and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

