Listen all you Mothers

17 Apr

Today I feel compelled to write about moms because of the situation in the media with Hilary Rosen and Ann Romney, and what I really want to say is STOP IT!! Women before us have worked too hard and made too many sacrifices for us to be so judgmental, petty and cruel with one another. I know more really good moms than really bad ones. I know that no matter what your economic, social, religious or marital status, the job of mom is one of the most challenging there is.

I choose to be a stay at home mom in a traditional marriage. It is the greatest joy of my life to be a wife and mother and raise my boys. For me, being a stay at home mom is following my bliss because the worst day raising my children is better than the best day I ever had at a paid job. Ironically, my oldest child will be heading to college in the fall and my youngest will be graduating from high school in six years, so I know that the job I will have had for over 20 years, by that time, will be phased out. My job will be eliminated in the corporation of Bemmes, and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

I have friends and relatives that have made different choices. For some, staying at home was stifling and diminishing. They need their work atmosphere to feel whole. Because they work, they are better parents. Because they find personal fulfillment in their work, they can focus on their children when they’re away from work. It helps them to find balance and joy, and I salute them because I cannot imagine taking the same road.

Then there are my single mom friends. They balance a life of children and work, in some cases with no support at all from the father of their children. Some need work, again, to feel whole and balanced and valued. Some wish they could be home with their children but press on because they want to give their children the best life possible. In all cases, they do their very best and I admire them for their tenacity and strong spirit.

I learned a long time ago that each one does what each one can and when we support each other we can all accomplish so much more. So, all you mothers out there, keep doing your best, keep loving your kids and keep yourself sane any way you can. Thanks for being you and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

