The Unplanned Day

13 Jun

So small yet so mighty

I am a morning person. I love the morning to write, meditate and get my housework done. If I get a good night’s sleep, I can get more done before noon than most people do in a day. I try to plan at least one day per week when I don’t have to leave the house before dinner time so I can have a day of super productivity, especially during the summer. If I can do that, the rest of my life seems to just fall into place. If not, stress and chaos seem to reign and life is more of a struggle.

Except for the first day we got home from vacation, I’ve had to be out every morning for one reason or another. Today, I had to pick someone up at 9am to go to the airport. As I was driving there, a police officer started following me. I passed him going just a few miles over the speed limit, but there he was. What is it about a police car following you that makes your stomach turn and your heart beat faster, even when you know you haven’t done anything really wrong? I don’t know, but in my case it got worse with every block that the police officer followed me. I knew he was going to pull me over. I just didn’t know where or why. After about a mile or so, he finally turned on his lights and I dutifully pulled over. He asked the dreaded question, “Do you know why I pulled you over?” I was honestly at a loss for an answer, but I gave him some lame reply about going over the speed limit. Guess what? He didn’t pull me over for speeding. He pulled me over for having tags that expired in APRIL!!! Holy Crud!!

You know, I thought I had processed all the stress of the past two months. I thought I had let go of all of that while on vacation, but when I heard that I had forgotten something so basic, something that I’ve done every year for 30+ years, I got flustered. I got emotional. I started to cry. It didn’t last long, but it was enough to make me remember all of the things I still have to do to follow up on this past school year. It made me realize that each day passes quickly and without a plan, I just let the days float away. Without a plan, I’m a ship without a rudder at the mercy of the wind or more likely, a sailboat in the middle of the ocean without a breeze. Seems silly that being pulled over for expired tags made me remember all of that, but it did.

So guess what else? I got a warning instead of a ticket, for which I am very grateful. I went to get my new tags and watched two women much older than me struggle with the vision test. One actually failed it, and I was grateful for my sight. I came home to my son cooking lunch for himself and his girlfriend, and I was grateful for their lighthearted company and conversation, even though he forgot to do the dishes before he left. But most of all, I appreciate the awareness that although these are the lazy days of summer, without some kind of plan and without an occasional day at home, my life turns into something I don’t like. Being pulled over and paying an extra twenty dollars for my sticker are small prices to pay for the return to sanity I know this incident will bring. Ironically, it also helped me be grateful for some of the most basic blessings in my life as well. I hope your course corrections are just as easy, and just in case you forgot, make sure your license and your license plates are up to date. Thanks for being you and have a great day!

2 Responses to “The Unplanned Day”

  1. Nikki Nickell June 13, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    Good one; thank goodness here in Washington, we get a reminder by mail and can order by e-mail or reg mail. And I knnow the feeling of wonderin what did I DO that he is following me? On the turn before the mile long trip up to our house, if he follows me into the right turn only lane, I really start to panic…but hold steady. The MPH is 25…and that is sooooo slow and loooong. Finally we come to my left turn into the drive and he whizzes on past me with a cheery toot! toot on his horn a salute of his hand. Geesh! But hen I am grateful that they DO go up and check things along our rural route.

    • karenbemmes June 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

      We get reminders too. That’s what makes it so maddening, but it is corrected now, at least for another 10 months. LOL

Leave a Reply

