Fun is Not Frivolous

21 Jul

Have you ever heard the phrase, “Be careful what you wish for?” Well, I have and a while back I asked the Universe which direction I should go next in my life. By next, I mean as my children are growing and I am needed less and less on a daily basis. I don’t want to be that person who sits around waiting for life to happen. I want to be living my best possible life and making a positive difference in this world, but for someone like me, it has to be fun too. I’ve had the most fun job I could ever imagine for the past 22+ years. On my worst days, I thought about changing places with my friends with paying jobs. I thought about my husband getting to leave and not think about things, but in reality, I knew I would never be happier than I was at home raising my kids. My husband has always said that his worst day of golf was better than his best day at the office. I feel that way about the job I’ve had for the past two decades, but that job is coming to an end, and I am feeling pulled to contribute to the world differently, so I’ve been stepping out, and it has been eye opening.

There is so much to learn, and as I learn, I realize how much more there is to learn, and there are moments of overwhelm when I wonder if it would be easier to retreat to what I know. On the other hand, there are the people I’ve met. They are such a diverse group, and I’m thrilled by what I’m learning from and about them, and I hope they’re learning a thing or two from me as well. We’re meeting over lunch to talk about writing. We’re meeting at Rec Centers to talk social media. We’re meeting at businesses to talk about blogs and how to use WordPress in ways I didn’t even know existed. See what I mean? It just keeps growing, but the thing I love is that every meeting and get together seems to lead to something new. I’ve found that people are so willing to help others and share avenues to success. This isn’t the business world I left in the early 1990’s, and I love it.

This weekend, I’m off on a new adventure. I’m meeting two members of an online creativity salon I’m part of at a writer’s conference. One is a poet who was recently published in the book Love is Love, an Anthology of Poetry for the Orlando shooting victims. The other is a writer who inspires me and others in our salon with her wit and authenticity. At one point, I thought about not going because I felt like an ant among giants, but I’ve stepped out like this before and the results are always beyond my expectations. I also remember so many saying that people coming to the end of their lives regret the things they didn’t do more than those they did, and I don’t want to be one of those people. I may not travel around the world, although I might. I may never write a best-selling novel, although I might. I may not make enough money to support myself with my blog, my books, my speaking, although I might. This weekend, though, I can drive a few hours to meet some kindred spirits so we can get to know one another in person and encourage each other to keep going. That sounds like a fun way to spend a couple of days. I know it might be a different experience for them, but for me, that sounds heavenly.

So who knows what you might see in this blog over the next few months. I’m moving forward on the Happiest Holidays book and have a Facebook page if you would like to follow the countdown to publication. We’re at 75 days from today, and I’m shooting video footage for future YouTube videos while I test recipes. I’m looking for recipes that make the journey simple and more fun and that nearly anyone can master. I’m learning more and more about the business or writing and blogging, and I’m having so much fun in the process. Fun helps me progress. Fun helps me learn, and for me, that fun is the best part of this journey right now. I hope you’re having fun in your life, and if not, I challenge you to find some because on your very worst days, a bit of fun can be the difference between living well and feeling like you’re not living at all. I could go on and on, but for some reason, this feels like the place to stop today. I wish you a great day, a better weekend and as much fun as you can incorporate into your life. As always, thanks for being you and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

